post No.107 Stationery vs. Stationary

Once upon a time, I was a person who spelled the word stationery incorrectly  (as most people do)  with an “ary” rather than “ery”.  Ever since my discovery it has become very bothersome to me when people spell it wrong.  I wouldn’t go so far to say it was a pet peeve, but still.  The other day Tess, (who works at Urbanic and happened to be a Sherman Oaks Elementary School spelling bee champion)  did the unthinkable. I sent her an email with this card from La Familia Green hoping to help her out with this.  Feel free to pass it along.

new-peeve-1

*A

P.S  To make sure we are all clear, this post should not imply that I am in any way shape or form a good speller.  Just stating the facts.

6 thoughts on “post No.107 Stationery vs. Stationary

  1. With all due respect, you might want to proofread a post about misspelling before posting it with so many typos…. “apon,” “happend,” “imagry.”

  2. oh my goodness…
    you are SO right !
    I love that you called me out on it.
    (apparently I accidentally saved the version before running spell check)
    joshua and I got a hearty laugh over this one.

    thanks FBM !

    * A

  3. It’s my peeve and as we have a stationery department, I feel it’s necessary to test every new intern and employee on this word. About 1 in 20 get it right. Thanks for exposing this!

Leave a Reply

