post No. 143 Parcel Post turns 1!

happybirthday

This month is the first birthday of Parcel Post!  I was thinking for presents it would be fun to give a few little things out to you, since you all are a big part of what keeps me going.  The inspiration came from someone I met in Urbanic over the weekend named Jillian.  I told her that I loved her dress and she told me that she loved my blog.  It was so fun to meet one of my readers in person and it totally made my day!  I hope that if any of you make it into the shop that you will introduce yourself.  I realize that many of you can’t make it in, so this blog giveaway is about meeting you.   Please introduce yourself in a comment on this post.  I would love to know anything about you. Do you have a blog? a website? a favorite color? where do you live? what do you do? How did you find Parcel Post?

To be eligible to win, all you have to do is introduce yourself in a comment on this post before April 29th .

I will announce the winners on April 30th.  (if i already know you, feel free to comment- you can play too!)  Below are the prizes.  There will be 5 lucky winners!

no1 ld-rosebud

prize No.1 is a deluxe lip balm by Mor

no2 ok-new-notebook2

prize No.2 is an Orla Kiley notebook

no3 55045

prize No.3 is an Aquiesse travel candle

no4 sea-watercress-chai-tea

prize No.4 is a bar of soap by Lucia

no5 gwa719

prize No.5 is a set of fabric covered buttons by Girl of all work

*A

.

{cupcakes above by my “treat hero” Amy Atlas • fancy number tags by someone very talented with a blog. I am very sorry I can’t remember my source, but please remind me of who you are so i can give you credit}

58 thoughts on “post No. 143 Parcel Post turns 1!

  1. Hi! My name is Valentina. I am Italian but I live in London. I am trained to be a Classical archaeologist and am now working as a digital classicist. I love all shades of blue! And I {love} your blog, which I found by chance by wandering around the ether…I would love to visit your shop one day..my boyfriend is American..we may plan a trip close to you sooner or later during our visits to the New Continent!
    Happy birthday parcel post!

  2. Hi! I’m Natalie. I’m currently a student living in Boston Mass but I’m originally from Portland Oregon. I’m moving out to Los Angeles in a few months to pursue art direction for film and I’m so excited to stop in at your stores on the drive down – this blog is so awesome I can’t even wait to see the store. Congratulations on a month of fantastic posts. Can’t wait to keep reading.

    Best,
    Natalie

  3. My name is Jacqueline and I live and work in Louisville, Kentucky as a public relations executive. We have a serious void in my city for stores and blogs like your own, and it’s been a joy to keep up with you. Congratulations!

  4. I am not sure how I discovered your blog, but it is now one of my favorites. I have a passion for unique paper products especially ones with a vintage feel to them. Thanks for all of your beautiful posts.

  5. oh my! what a fun little giveaway! i started reading your blog when I was looking for inspiration for my new little business {http://pennedandpretty.blogspot.com} and I havent stopped reading since! what a great little blog that you have here! 🙂 i must say, i am quite excited about this little giveaway….we are moving into our first home in less than a month and the only thing that I havent been able to find are cute magnets for our fridge!!!! no. 5 is perfect!!! 🙂 and i travel 3 months out of the year so all of the other giveaway items would come in quite handy!!! 🙂 thanks again for such great daily inspiration!!

  6. Hi! I’m Krista. I’m a graphic design student currently living in the Philadelphia suburbs, although I am originally from Annapolis, MD. I love your blog! Especially all the little “No.” signs throughout it. If I’m ever in your neck of the woods, I will definitely stop by your shop!

  7. Hi! I’m Jessica. I live in NY and work as a Graphic Designer in NYC. I found your blog through 100layercake and now I check it [several times] everyday! I started making paper creations for my friends weddings about a year ago. Everything from Bridal Shower Game booklets to the actual Wedding Invite. I always knew I liked paper but never really realized how much I truly LOVE it, and love paper stores, and creating meaningful paper essentials! I so wish I lived closer to your store 😦 I have a feeling I would be there WAY too much. I really found your story inspirational and very romantic too [heehee]. It reminded me of my bf and myself. We are both artists and love making things for one another. I hope that someday my business takes off like yours! Thank you for your beautiful and unique blog posts that always brighten my day : ) and Happy Birthday Parcel Post!*!*

  8. Hello hello! My name is Leila and I actually live right across the street from your lovely store. I am the lucky recipient of one of your free address stamps (a great giveaway) and I’m in the store at least once a month looking for a card or cute stationary gift. 🙂

    I am a graphic design student (second career) at UCLAx and I am around the neighborhood during the daytime. I’ll introduce myself the next time I stop in. Found your blog a month or so ago and I love all the stuff you choose to feature on it. Keep up the great work!

  9. ¡Hola! My name is Monica & I own & operate a stationery & design studio named Paper Cut Industries.com {www.papercutindustries.com} & I have always loved Urbanic. It is such a treat! I miss the days I would walk there on my {extended} lunch break. My inspiration comes from everything that brings beauty and simplicity to life. Being outside riding a bike, going to flea markets, shopping and eating good food bring me such joy! Congrats & Happy Birthday Parcel Post!

  10. Hello,
    My name is Hope Wallace and I am the owner/designer of Paper Relics and Look How Sweet Design.

    I am also engaged to be married this fall… I think I found this blog through a wedding blog, but I come check in often.

    Cheers!

  11. Hi there! My name is Kara Lundquist, currently living in Denver and very thankful to have a job, but longing to start my own crafting business, so for now I just day dream about the possibility. Currently though, crafting has taken aback to my husband and my 4 month old yorkie pup. Thank you for your wonderful blog – I get excited when I see there’s a new post on my google reader!
    All my best, Kara

  12. Oh A, you know I love you, your blog AND your store!!! I miss being able to wander over on my lunch hour but your blog is almost as good for having easy access to you! Happy 1st Birthday!
    B

  13. Hi! I’m Frances. I’m a graphic design student in Chicago. I read a whole gamut of blogs so I never really remember where I find things…but I absolutely love paper and any creative inspiration that comes from it.
    Happy Birthday and best wishes!

  14. Happy Birthday!
    My name is Stephanie and I am a Graphic Designer in Richmond, Virginia. I do design work for a company called Punch and I create the design for a stationery line called Ink & Paper {www.inkandpaper.com}. In my free time I’m working on a new blog called Urban Nest {www.urbannestblog.com}. I do not know how I first found Parcel Post, but it’s been on my “daily read list” since I can remember! And orange is currently my favorite color…
    Congrats!

  15. Happy Blogiversary! I’m Amy I. from Oregon, and I have a little blog called Playing House. I’m a graduate student and newlywed trying to figure out the whole cooking and taking care of a home thing (and loving every minute!). Not sure where I first came across your blog, but I’ve been subscribing for a while and love it! Oh, and I love all colors but these days I’m especially loving yellow.

  16. What a sweet idea – reverse birthday! I love your blog and wish you happiest of first birthdays (you don’t look a day over 8 months old!) Ha-ha!

  17. My name is Abbie. I have a blog and live in CO. I honestly cannot remember how I found your blog. My background is in accounting, but I managed to somehow get myself into IT. Love the blog! Congrats.

  18. Hello, my name is Tiffany. I absolutely love your blog. I really wish I could come to your store in person {but alas, I live in Tennessee}, because I would absolutely eat up all of the beautiful products you have in stock.

    I am a recent college grad and an aspiring photographer. I also just opened up my own hand illustrated card shop: http://www.withlovetiffany.com I love making things with my hands and getting to share them with people.

    My husband and I have a blog: http://jonathan-and-tiffany.blogspot.com where we share our little adventures and fun things we enjoy. We are also having a little giveaway on our blog this week, so feel free to stop by.

    Happy Birthday! And many more years of happy blogging to you. 🙂

    with love,
    tiffany

  19. Hi, my name is Annie, and I love cupcakes. Happy birthday to you, store! I only recently discovered this blog but since I live in LA I will most definitely be stopping by soon.

  20. Happy Birthday!

    I’m Julie, and I’m a graphic designer born and raised in the Philadelphia suburbs. I’ve been reading your blog for a while now so I don’t remember where I found you, but boy am I glad I did! You’re one of my favorite blogs now.

  21. I’m Lea Ann and I have a blog (http://sunnysblog.typepad.com) full of photos of pretty things, funny stories and family moments (am single..so it’s of my niece and nephews and the youth group kids I work with).

    I am not sure how I found your blog but am glad I did! I love it here!

    Happy Birthday to your blog!!

  22. Hi, my name is Susan, and I live and work outside of Washington, DC where I am a full-time Mom and just started a letterpress stationery business. I LOVE your blog, wish I lived closer and dream of having my products on your store shelves some day! Best wishes in the second year of Parcel Post!

  23. I am Jessica C. from Louisville, KY. (How crazy is it that two people from Louisville are commenting!) I am a student at the University of Louisville in Biological Anthropology with plans to get my PhD in genetics. I am also newly married! (6 months!) I too love your blog. It’s a creative retreat!

  24. Hello I’m Gracienne from Brisbane, Australia. I can’t quite remember how I found your blog but I love it! I’m a huge fan and would love to one day visit your shop.
    I do have a blog and enjoy it. I love to be creative and in the process of learning to letterpress (well I bought a tabletop one).
    Happy 1st birthday!!

  25. Hi Audrey!

    I’ve known about PP almost since you started it- it is so fun to read! We know each other since you carry some of our cards (little oranges) and I have enjoyed seeing how well Urbanic has done and just continues to be great!!!!

    Must come out someday soon!!!!
    best,
    Emily

  26. Hello! My name is Lisa and we met last year at the National Stationery Show when you very kindly ordered some of my letterpress cards for Urbanic. I wish I could come visit your lovely stationery boutique but I live ‘up north’ in Canada! I subscribe to your RSS feed for the blog and saw this post. I just wanted to pop in to say congrats on your blog anniversary!!!

  27. Hi. My name is Ana. I was just about to tear into a Cadbury Creme Egg for breakfast but was saved by instinct and the mouth watering photos of those cupcakes. Cadbury Eggs – what was I thinking? I love your store SO MUCH.

  28. Happy Birthday to the site! I love your store and ordered my wedding invites from you (I can’t wait to come in and see them on the wedding door! I was stoked to see them in your Friday pic!). I have to admit that I came across this blog through random mid-day searches and it took me a week or so to realize that it was the same as Urbanic! No wonder I love the site so much! Keep up the fab work!

  29. Happy blog-birthday! I’m Ms. Unreliable, also known as Kit! I’m a Sydney-based designer and I blog about all my many obsessions (art, design, photography…croissants) at That Unreliable Girl. I’ve only just found Parcel Post in the last few weeks, but it’s now a daily read…I’ll have to go back and read all the posts I missed!

  30. Hi!
    Im Julie from Bothell, Washington, and I am a high school student pursuing a career in wedding design! I recently started reading wedding blogs when my dad told me about the photography blogs he reads, I decided to research wedding blogs, and came upon Parcel Post!
    As I said, I am a high school student ( a junior), and I am involved in madrigal choir, jazz choir, soccer, dance, and I have a job as an assistant florist at the local supermarket. I am also currently in an event planning class offered through my school district. We are working on weddings right now which has been my favorite unit so far, and our next event coming up is an Association of Bridal Consultant meeting, and me and another person in the class get to be the team leaders of the event, so I am looking forward to it! I am also currently planning a wedding reception for a co-worker of my mom’s, as my Senior Project.
    Anyways, thank you for your blog, it really has helped me find some inspiration in planning events, and in daily life in general!
    —Julie Bourne
    (my very little and in progress brand new “blog”– http://www.julieabourne.wordpress.com) =]

  31. Hi! I’m Christine, from Salt Lake City. I found your blog… I don’t remember how, but it was the name that caught my eye. “Parcel Post”, I thought, must mean good things. And it definitely has!

    Yes, I have a blog (www.inspired.typepad.com). My favorite color is usually red, though some days it’s lime green, or a rich pink, or a powerful periwinkle, or… well, yeah, you get the idea.

    What do I do? Well, in my day dreams I’m independently wealthy and travel the world for philanthropy, having marvelous adventures and picking out gorgeous souvenirs on the side. In real life, I work in a professional career and try to live up to all the inspiring ideas and people around me. Oh yeah, and someday… some day… I’m going to visit Urbanic and pick out some gorgeous new stationary, because paper products? It’s an addiction.

  32. I’m Niki and I own a stationery studio in Boca Raton, Florida (www.paperyandcakery.com http://www.paperyandcakery.com/blog.htm). Your site was an inspiration to me which helped me launch my own business last Spring. You have such unique taste and great ideas. I’m going to be in LA this summer and can’t wait to see the store in person.

    Thanks for your fabulous blogging!

  33. Hello and Happy Birthday! I’m Emily, a designer/artist from Providence, RI. I currently design for a manufacturer of invitaitons, announcements and stationery. I check your blog everyday and I find it to be a great source of inspiration and information. Thanks for all the blogging goodness!
    Cheers!

  34. Pingback: post No.144 EarthDay09 « parcel post

  35. Hi I’m Anita from Austin, TX. I’m a graphic design student and is graduating this May (yay!). The things you post are so inspiring. When I’m feeling dry I always go to blogs like yours for some oomph. Keep up the good work n’ ::Happy BiRtHDaY to ParCel PosT ::

  36. So nice to meet you! My name is Whitney, and my husband and I are huge fans of your blog and hope to visit your store next time we’re in your neck of the woods!

    We are the designers for a custom stationery company in Seattle, WA, Brown Sugar Design. I am always excited to see new posts from you in my google reader 🙂

  37. I’m Allison and I believe I found your blog via Brooklyn Bride. I love your daily musings, and as a paper nut, enjoy seeing all the cool products you feature!

  38. Hiya! I’m Suzanne and I love to write. When I was in university I studied ancient languages and civilizations. I also had a very fun year at a private art school. I’m a big fan of classic beauty renovated into modern terms, so transitional interiors make me very happy. I’m also a sucker for anything that’s red and shiny. I’m addicted to typography and words. Oh, and Gerard Butler and Hugh Jackman share me as their mistress. Ok, that last part’s a lie. Neither wants to share me; they just don’t know about each other. I’m a happy lady.

  39. *A…
    i was lucky enough to meet you through the amazing Wiley Valentine {Orange County, CA} where i spend my fantastic work days! your blog is where i pass my few minutes over a quick lunch and i am inspired by your love of family and awesome taste! happiest first to parcel post!
    love, kristin

  40. Like Natalie above, I’m from Portland, OR and went to college in Boston. Luckily, I’ve graduated and am back in lovely Portland! I’ve also had a link to you on my blog for quite some time but hadn’t yet told you that it was there. Congrats on making it a year! My blog is still in it’s baby stages – only a little over one month!

  41. Hi – I’m Renee and I ‘m from Washington state. I just found your website when I was getting fabric/design ideas for my home. I’m a working mom with 2 boys, who would love to be a SAHM.
    rsgrandinetti(at)Yahoo(dot)com

  42. I can’t remember now how I found Parcel Post but I’m so glad I did. From the first post I read I was hooked and look forward to your finds (you have impeccable taste!) I often find myself dreaming of living back in CA and being able to wander into your adorable shop anytime I want. Since that isn’t an option at the moment I so appreciate glimpses into your store! I love being able to live vicariously through your blog 🙂

    I currently live in Louisiana but grew up in Northern California. I lived in Lake Tahoe for about 8 years and then my job in the hospitality industry took me to North Carolina where I met my husband. A promotion for him brought us to the friendly (but HORRIBLY humid) town of Shreveport. It’s here where I do all of my day dreaming.

    Happy “blog birthday!!”

  43. Hi – I’m Michelle. I’m a Canadian currently living in New York. I’m a graphic designer, and stop by your blog often, and find great inspiration. Thanks for sharing your creativity with us!

  44. I’m Marguerite, an archivist in Houston, TX. I’ve been a bit slow on my blog lately, as I was sidelined by pneumonia and had to clean house afterwards (it’s amazing what piles up when you don’t do anything for a few weeks!), but I like anything creative — bookbinding, knitting, crocheting, baking, etc., and I seem to have overcome my brown thumb and have started growing things as well. Want to get into soapmaking at some point — until then, Lucia’s soaps make me very happy!

  45. hello! i’m libby and i’m a visual merchandiser in minneapolis. i have a little design blog and an etsy shop where i sell some art pieces and vintage finds. i can’t remember where i found you but i’m so glad i did – i love stopping by! thanks so much and happy birthday parcel post!

  46. Hi, I’m Althea. I’m 21 and I love your blog, I think because everything you share is so cute and beautiful and I wish I was able to create things half as adorable. Sadly everything I make looks like it was made by a five year old. But your blog makes my day, it’s so fun to read and the thought of filling my (future) home with some of the things you show makes me really excited to get to that part of my life. Congratulations on your 1st birthday!!!!!

  47. Hello, my name is Natalie and I’m a textile designer from Melbourne, Australia, with a hopeless addiction to all things cards and stationery! I can’t remember how I came across your blog but I love your design aesthetic. Congratulations on your 1st blogging birthday!

  48. I am a return shopper of Urbanic and read your blog regularly. I found your shop through my Fiance (we were looking for wedding invitations and walked right in, thanks for helping us without an appointment!) Ended up getting a custom stamp from you… its working out great! Congratulations on making it to 1 year! There are always great ways to use your products, I am an interior designer and have started my business with several of your goodies in hand. Glad you are just right down the street! ~Monica

  49. Pingback: post No.148 1st birthday giveaway « parcel post

Leave a Reply

